The Development of Catholic Doctrines: Authority, Part 3

What Every Roman Catholic Needs to Know
Authority, Part 3
The Development of Catholic Doctrines
By Anthony Pezzotta

Most Roman Catholics, especially those who never question the teachings of their Church, assume that all basic doctrines and practices date back to the teachings of Jesus and the time of the apostles. For the sake of truth, here are the dates (sometimes approximate, sometimes exact), of many unbiblical Roman Catholic doctrines, practices, and laws.

1. Elders or Presbyters first called Priests by Lucian: End of 2nd century

2. Sacerdotal mass started by Cyprian: End of 3rd century

3. Prayers for the dead: About AD 300

4. Making the sign of the cross: About AD 300

5. Wax candles: About AD 320

6. Veneration of angels and saints, and use of images: AD 375

7. The mass celebrated daily, instead of Sundays only: AD 394

8. Exaltation of Mary as “Mother of God” (Council of Ephesus): AD 431

9. Priests wearing special vestments: About AD 500

10. Extreme Unction (anointing of the sick) as a sacrament: AD 526

11. The doctrine of Purgatory (by Gregory I): AD 593

12. Latin to be used in worship: AD 600

13. Prayers addressed to Mary, angels and dead saints: AD 600

14. First time for the bishop of Rome to be called “Pope” (Boniface I): AD 610

15. Kissing the Pope’s feet: AD 709

16. The Pope was declared a state sovereign by Pepin, King of the Franks: AD 750

17. Veneration of crosses, relics and images of the saints: AD 786

18. Water, blessed by a priest with a pinch of salt, becomes “holy water”: AD 850

19. Special veneration of St. Joseph, the foster-father of Jesus: AD 890

20. Beginning of the College of Cardinals (electors of the Pope): AD 927

21. Church bells first baptized by Pope John XIII (Baptism of bells): AD 965

22. Canonization of dead saints for the first time by Pope John XV: AD 995

23. Fast and abstinence from meat on Fridays of Lent: AD 998

24. Mass as a sacrifice and grave obligation of Sunday attendance: 1lth century

25. Obligatory celibacy for priests and bishops: AD 1079

26. The Rosary introduced (adopted from pagans?) by Peter the Hermit: AD 1090

27. Inquisition instituted by the Council of Verona: AD 1184

28. Sale of indulgences: AD 1190

29. Doctrine of Seven Sacraments introduced by Peter Lombard: 12th century

30. Transubstantiation defined by Pope Innocent III: AD 1215

31. Secret confession of sins to a priest instead of God (innocent III): AD 1215

32 Adoration of the Host (worship of wafer) decreed by Pope Honorius III: AD 1220

33. Bible on “Index of Forbidden Books” for laymen (Council of Valencia): AD 1229

34. Use of scapular devised by Simon Stock of England: AD 1251

35. The cup (consecrated wine) forbidden to the laity (Council of Constance): AD 1414

36. Purgatory defined a dogma at Council of Florence: AD 1439

37. Tradition of equal authority with the Bible (Council of Trent): AD 1545

38. Apocryphal books declared canonical and added to the Bible: AD 1546

39. New Longer Creed in place of Apostolic Creed by Pope Pius IV: AD 1560

40. Immaculate Conception of Mary defined a major dogma by Pope Pius IX: AD 1854

41. Syllabus of Errors* proclaimed by Pius IX: AD 1864

42. Infallibility of the Pope defined a major dogma by Pius IX: AD 1870

43. Assumption of Mary body and soul defined a major dogma by Pius XII: AD 1950

44. Mary proclaimed Mother of the Church by Paul VI: AD 1965

* The “Syllabus of Errors” contained official condemnation of Freedom of Religion, Freedom of Conscience and Freedom of Speech. It also disapproved of Freedom of the Press, and condemned all Scientific Discoveries not in keeping with Roman Catholic teachings. It once more asserted the Pope’s temporal authority over all civil rulers.